Plugin security - Obsidian Help

Plugin security

permalink: plugin-security

The Obsidian team takes security seriously. This page explains the risks involved when installing community plugins, and what the Obsidian team does to address them.

Restricted mode

By default, Obsidian runs in Restricted Mode to prevent third-party code execution. Only disable Restricted mode if you trust the authors of the plugins that you install.

To turn off Restricted mode:

  1. Open Settings.
  2. In the side menu, select Community plugins.
  3. Select Turn on community plugins.

To turn on Restricted mode:

  1. Open Settings.
  2. In the side menu, select Community plugins.
  3. Next to Restricted mode, select Turn on.

Installed plugins remain in your vault even if you turn on Restricted mode, but are ignored by Obsidian.

Plugin capabilities

Due to technical limitations, Obsidian cannot reliably restrict plugins to specific permissions or access levels. This means that plugins will inherit Obsidian's access levels. As a result, consider the following examples of what community plugins can do:

Tip

If you're working with sensitive data and wish to install a community plugin, we recommend that you perform an independent security audit on the plugin before using it.

Plugin review process

All community plugins must adhere to Obsidian Developer Policies. Obsidian automatically scans every plugin version for security vulnerabilities, code quality issues, and malware. Each plugin's page in the plugin directory displays the results as a safety scorecard.

Manual reviews continue for popular, featured, and flagged plugins.